Quirky Fest: not your everyday end of year list.

http://jenhatmaker.com/blog/2011/12/12/quirky

This is good.  Leave it to Jen (author of 7, of book club fame) to remind us all to stop taking ourselves so seriously and embrace the wacko within.

The timing is good.  On a recent outing with my girls, Hannah asked about New Year’s Resolutions.

image

This year, I decided to stop putting so much pressure on myself.  It was so bad, in fact, that I had not even made it to step 1.  I did not even think I was a perfectionist.  But I admit it now.  It’s a problem.  This is not to be confused with OCD.  If I was OCD, I would actually just clean the house myself instead of having the big ongoing fight with my kids about chores and then just give up and not invite people over because I won’t invite them into a messy house and I can’t handle the stress of cleaning it either.

But I digress.  This post is not about serious problems, just weird quirks.  We all have them.  Here’s my top 5.

1.  I am a safety nazi.  Don’t you dare leave the fireplace screen open for 60 seconds while you run out for wood!  Someone will fall in.

If I suspect a child, any child, is choking, I will have them upside down in full rescue mode before you can blink. 

Choking hazards.  I will hunt you down.  Thankfully baby boy wasn’t the mouthy type, so I’ve been able to relax.  As a preschool teacher, rest assured, there will not be staples on the floor, staplers left out, etc.  I once stapled my fingers together, so, yeah.

I am a total wreck in crowded, public places because I’m convinced my kids will a). Get lost forever, or b). Get kidnapped. I’m learning to control the anxiety, but I will not let them leave my sight.

And finally, swimming pools.  Before my kids could swim, I would not ever trust anyone (except their dad) to watch them. 

Ok, perhaps I have some control issues.

2.  I always wear shoes.  Always.  I’ve broken my pinky toes about 5 times.  I kick things.  Apparently I’m not careful about where I’m going.

3.  I’m obsessed with ear wax.  I use q tips everyday.  I have used oil and peroxide on a regular basis to keep my kids’ ears wax free. Note: now that they are teenagers, it doesn’t actually happen anymore. But I can dream. Proud parenting moment: after a session with the ear wax machine at the doctor’s office recently, my daughter told me she wanted one of those machines for her birthday.

4. I don’t know how to pose for pictures. I do this weird fake smile and always look terrible. I’m ok in candid shots, so I’m pretty sure I’m a decent looking person. Just don’t look at my passport or my driver’s license. Seriously, scary.

5. I love old lady card games. Cribbage and Bridge are my jam.

Now don’t let me have all the fun. Share away. The weirder, the better. Let’s toast 2014 as the year we embraced our true selves, quirks and all!

Leave a comment