Back in the Saddle

image

Yes, yes I did have a bowl full of cherries for breakfast.  No, this is not a metaphor for my life.  I am an optimist and a person of faith.  Life is messy and sometimes very hard, but God has never let me down.  I like to look for silver linings.  There are always so many.  Always look for hope.  God will provide it.

This summer I’ve been experimenting with non paleo foods to see how my body reacts.  I started out with severe autoimmune issues in the form of allergies.  The 30 day cleanse I did in February cured me of those symptoms, but they are quick to come back when I let back in the grains.

Since we moved to a city, I’ve been shopping at Trader Joe’s.  My understanding is that they do not sell anything genetically modified.  So I’ve been trying some things out.  In the last couple of days I ate Fruity Os, taco shells, and popcorn from TJ’s.  Unfortunately, I’m not ready for that.  Enter phlegm in the back of my throat.   Apparently, it is not just gluten or GMOs that set me off.  My leaky gut is still sensitive to grains and legumes.

I’m back in the saddle.  I trust one day I’ll be healed enough to enjoy these foods.  It will be a while, though.   For the record, I didn’t eat all of those cherries.   I also had a scrambled egg with diced tomatoes cooked in bacon fat and black tea with almond milk.   Lovely!

Leave a comment